





Darwin Rural Water Control District

On 17 May 1999, the Darwin Rural Water Control District was declared. The Water Control District encompasses the Litchfield Shire and Cox Pennisula and includes areas such as Acacia, Humpty Doo, Lambells Lagoon and Berry Springs. The hydrogeology of the area is complex with 13 significant aquifers, some of which are high yielding (>5L/s) while the majority are low yielding (<0.5L/s)

The major high yielding aquifers within the Darwin Rural Water Control District are:

- Koolpinyah Dolostone aquifer
- Berry Springs Dolostone aquifer
- Palmerston Dolostone aguifer
- Coomalie Dolostone formation.

Water Control Districts are declared in areas where there is a high level of competition for water and/or require closer management of the water resources.

Water management rules apply to people wanting to access and use water within the Water Control District which includes the requirement for:

- Bore construction permits; and
- Water extraction licences to take surface and groundwater



NOTE:

- Water for rural stock and domestic use is exempt from licensing.
- There may be other specific exemptions which apply generally in the Northern Territory depending on the water user.

A water control district also allows for water allocation plans to be developed. A water allocation plan is in place for the Berry Springs Dolostone Aquifer and a plan is currently under development for the Howard groundwater system, which includes the Koolpinyah Dolostone Aquifer.

For information about permit or licensing requirements in the area. Email: water.licensing@nt.gov.au

For water planning enquires. Email: waterresources@nt.gov.au



