



## WATER RESOURCES



## DALY ROPER BEETALOO WATER CONTROL DISTRICT

On 20 July 2018, the Daly Roper Beetaloo Water Control District replaced the Daly Roper Water Control District. The new Daly Roper Beetaloo Water Control District will be 175,580 square kilometres, and includes the Beetaloo Sub-basin, an area that is highly prospective for shale gas. This is an area equivalent to two and a half times the area of Tasmania.

Water Control Districts are declared in areas where there is a high level of competition for water and/or require closer management of the water resources. The extension of the boundary is one of the recommendations in the Final Report of the Scientific Inquiry into Hydraulic Fracturing in the Northern Territory.

The extension is 41,313 square kilometres and includes Dunmarra, Elliott, Newcastle Waters to the west, Powell Station to south and Mungabroom Pastoral Leases to the east.

New water management rules will apply to people wanting to access and use water in the extension area, which includes a requirement for:

- bore construction permits; and
- water extraction licences to take surface and ground water (with the exceptions outlined below).

NOTE:

- Water for rural stock and domestic use is exempt from licensing.
- There is an exemption if the combined groundwater use from all bores located on a parcel of land is less than five (5) megalitres per year.
- There may be other specific exemptions which apply generally in the Northern Territory depending on the water user.

A water control district also allows for water allocation plans to be developed. There is a water allocation plan for the Katherine Tindall Limestone Aguifer and plans are currently under development for the Mataranka Tindall Limestone Aquifer and the Oolloo Dolostone Aquifer.

One of the other recommendations in the Final Report of the Scientific Inquiry into Hydraulic Fracturing in the Northern Territory is to prepare water allocation plans for the North Beetaloo Sub-basin and the South Beetaloo Sub-basin, which is enabled by this new water control district.

If you have any questions about permit and licensing requirements in the extension area, please email: water.licensing@nt.gov.au





