Larger text size icon Smaller text size icon

Place Names Register Extract

O'Loughlin Street

If you know of any information about this place name which does not appear in this extract, please let the Place Names Committee know by completing a submission form.

View in NT Atlas | Print Extract | Search Again

Name O'Loughlin
Type Designation Street
Place Id 24651
Place Type Road
Status Registered
Date Registered 1 December 2014
Locality / Suburb  
Local Government Area  
  Palmerston City Council
History/Origin Rev John Patrick O'Loughlin was born in 1911. He worked in a missionary in New Guinea prior to becoming Bishop of Darwin in 1949 until 1985. Over this time, he had a major role in expanding the Church throughout the Northern Territory. Bishop O'Loughlin established numerous Parishes including Tennant Creek in 1953, Katherine and Nightcliff in 1969, Nhulunbuy, Casuarina and Jabiru in 1981, and Sanderson in 1982. He was also the authority for building the current St Mary's Star of Sea Cathedral in Darwin between 1958 and 1962. Bishop O'Loughlin was committed to catholic education in the Territory and opened many schools. These included St Francis Xavier in Daly River, Fannie Bay (now closed), St Paul's Primary in Nightcliff, St John's College in Salonika, Holy Spirit Primary in Casuarina, Holy Family Primary in Sanderson and Our Lady of the Sacred Heart College in Alice Springs. O'Loughlin Catholic College in Sanderson was named in memory of Bishop O'Loughlin's commitment and achievement for catholic education in the Territory. Bishop O'Loughlin pasted away while in office in 1985 and was interred in the crypt of St Mary's Cathedral.

Register & Gazettal information

Date Gazettal Comment
01/12/2014 Date added to Register
10/12/2014 NTG G49 Date Gazetted
View in NT Atlas | Print Extract | Search Again