Larger text size iconSmaller text size icon
Quick Links:

Frequently Asked Questions









How do I contact service authorities to clear conditions of permits?

In order to lodge either a Part 5 or Certificate of Compliance application you will first need to contact the relevant service authorities to obtain written confirmation that the conditions of your Development Permit, for which their clearance is applicable, have been satisfied. Confirmation via email is acceptable.

 

Generally, conditions in relation to provision of utility services and/or easements will require at a minimum, clearance from the relevant Council, Power and Water Corporation and telecommunication provider.

 

If you have any questions in relation to which service authorities need to provide clearances in relation to any specific conditions, please do not hesitate to contact Development Assessment Services on telephone 8999 6046.

 

Service authority contact details are as follows:

 

COUNCILS

 

Alice Springs Town Council

8950 0538 or dnellikat@astc.nt.gov.au

Barkly Regional Council

8962 0041 or elai.semisi@barkly.nt.gov.au

Belyuen Shire Council

89785071 or cathy.winsley@belyuen.nt.gov.au

Central Desert Regional Council

8958 9520 or glenn.marshall@centraldesert.nt.gov.au

City of Darwin                                   

8930 0413 or darwin@darwin.nt.gov.au

Coomalie Community Government Council

8976 0058 or ceo@coomalie.nt.gov.au

City of Palmerston

8935 9957 or palmerston@palmerston.nt.gov.au

East Arnhem Shire Council

8986 8901 or john.japp@eastarnhem.nt.gov.au

Katherine Town Council

8972 5500 or records@ktc.nt.gov.au

Litchfield Shire Council

8983 0600 or council@litchfield.nt.gov.au

MacDonnell Regional Council

8958 9637 or simon.murphy@macdonnell.nt.gov.au

Roper Gulf Shire Council

8971 0365 or sharon.hillen@ropergulf.nt.gov.au

Tiwi Islands Shire Council

8970 9604 or infrastructure@tiwiislands.nt.gov.au

Victoria Daly Regional Council

8972 0777 or admin@vicdaly.nt.gov.au

Wagait Shire Council

8978 5185 or council@wagait.nt.gov.au

West Arnhem Regional Council

8979 6600 or gordon.smith@westarnhem.nt.gov.au

West Daly Regional Council

89013920 or info@westdaly.nt.gov.au

 

POWER AND WATER CORPORATION

 

Power North (Darwin, Jabiru, Katherine, Mataranka, Pine Creek, Borroloola areas):

Email: powerdevelopment@powerwater.com.au; or

Thanh Tang: 8924 5729 or thanh.tang@powerwater.com.au or;

Anthony Greenwood: 8924 5191 or anthony.greenwood@powerwater.com.au or;

Caesar Yik: 8924 5042 or caesar.yik@powerwater.com.au.

 

Power South (Alice Springs, Yulara, Kings Canyon, Ti-Tree, Tennant Creek, Elliott areas):

Email: powerdevelopment@powerwater.com.au; or

David Lardner: 8951 7264 or david.lardner@powerwater.com.au; or

Richard Drummond: 8951 7302 or richard.drummond@powerwater.com.au.

 

Water / Sewer North (including Darwin and Katherine)

Customer services: 1800 245 092

Email: waterdevelopment@powerwater.com.au; or

Ian Jong: 89955840 or ian.jong@powerwater.com.au; or

Don Buentipo: 89245396 or don.buentipo@powerwater.com.au.

 

Water / Sewer South (including Alice Springs and Tennant Creek)

Karl Smith: 89517312 or karl.smith@powerwater.com.au; or

Email waterdevelopment@powerwater.com.au.

 

Regions and Remote Operations:

Email: remotedevelopment@powerwater.com.au; or 

Jamey Shannon: 89245226 or jamey.shannon@powerwater.com.au; or

Annette D’Emden: 89517273 or annette.d'emden@powerwater.com.au; or

Nathan Muisyo: 89245222 or nathan.muisyo@powerwater.com.au.

 

OTHER SERVICE AUTHORITIES

 

Telstra

dev4national@team.telstra.com initially for any general queries

Go to the Telstra Smart Community website (https://www.telstra.com.au/smart-community).

Complete an Application For Reticulation.

The Land Development Liaison Team will be in contact to discuss the application & any applicable requirements.

Telstra has implemented an auto letter process by which all projects (once reaching the appropriate stage) have a letter issued confirming the provisioning of services.

 

NBN

Jodie Lunn: 08 8193 3643 or jodielunn@nbnco.com.au

To register your development, please visit: http://www.nbnco.com.au/develop-or-plan-with-the-nbn.html

For assistance in registering your development, please contact Claire McGregor on 0429 091 132 or clairemcgregor@nbnco.com.au

 

Department of Infrastructure, Planning and Logistics

Transport and Civil Services Division: 8924 7104 or dev.tipd@nt.gov.au

 

NT Fire and Rescue Service

Email: fire.safety@nt.gov.au

Northern Region: 8995 5400

Southern Region: 8951 6664

 

Bushfires NT

Northern Region: 8976 0098 or john.whatley@nt.gov.au

Katherine Region: 8973 8871 or steele.davies@nt.gov.au

Alice Springs: 8952 3066 or bushfires.nt@nt.gov.au

Tennant Creek: 8962 4577 or bushfires.nt@nt.gov.au

 

Department of Health 

Northern: 8922 7363 or envirohealth@nt.gov.au

Southern: 8955 6118 or fionam.smith@nt.gov.au

Medical Entomology

8922 8337 or allan.warchot@nt.gov.au

 

NT Environment Protection Authority (NT EPA)

8924 4218 or ntepa.epa@nt.gov.au

 

Department of Environment and Natural Resources

8999 4446 or DevelopmentAssessment.DENR@nt.gov.au

 





How do I register a Caution Notice on title?

CAUTION NOTICES

Where a Development Permit is subject to a condition requiring the registration of a Caution Notice on the title the land owner and any person or entity which has a registered interest in the title must sign Form 8 Memorandum for Purposes of Caution Notices. This form may be downloaded via the following website:

www.nt.gov.au/justice/bdm/land_title_office/fees.shtml

 

The Department of Infrastructure, Planning and Logistics (Crown Land Estate) hold delegations under Sections 34 and 36(1) of the Land Titles Act, in relation to the creation of Caution Notices and the Removal of Memorials on land. 

 

Signed and completed forms in relation to the creation or removal of a Caution Notice must be submitted to Crown Land Estate for processing, together with a copy of the relevant Development Permit, endorsed plans and any other information to assist with processing the request.  Land holders are encouraged to seek the advice of a licenced conveyancer or legal practitioner to assist with preparation of the relevant Land Title Forms.

 

Forms must be lodged with Crown Land Estate a minimum of 7 working days prior to required lodgement with the Land Titles Office to allow for processing time.

 

Please contact the relevant area of Development Assessment Services on the below telephone numbers for further information in relation to how to register the Caution Notice:

Darwin: (08) 8999 6045

Palmerston/East Arm: (08) 8999 6223

Rural/Remote: (08) 8999 6132

Tennant Creek/Alice Springs: (08) 8951 9242